Make your own free website on
astrobol.jpg (3977 bytes)

The Zodiac

astrobol.jpg (3977 bytes)

The dates of the signs:

You can see the dates assigned to the signs of the zodiac when you move your mouse on the thumbnail. The signs don't change at exactly midnight GMT on the dates given below, so at the beginning or end of each period you may see a variation of up to a day. An individual born in the main portion of any of the periods below, can say with safety that they are an Aquarius or a Cancer, etc. But if your birth took place on one of the borderline dates, you will need to know the exact time and latitude/longitude of the event, and then you can use my AstroChart, to be certain which is your exact Sun sign.

Aries: March 21 - April 20

Tarus: April 21 - May 21

Gemini: May 22 - June 21

Cancer: June 22 - July 22

Leo: July 23 - August 23

Virgo: August 24 - September 23

Libra: September 24 - October 23

Scorpio: October 24 - November 22

Sagittarius: November 23 - December 21

Capricorn: December 22 - January 20

Aquarius: January 21 - February 18

Pisces: February 19 - March 20

The signs of the zodiac are classified in three other ways:

*  Each sign is either positive (masculine: spontaneous and self-expressive) or negative (feminine: withdrawn and passive).

* Each sign is assigned to one of the four principle elements: Fire (lively and aggressive), Earth (matter-of-fact and controlled), Air (lively in mind and fluent in expression) and Water (sensitive and intuitive). These are known as the triplices: Fire, Earth, Air and Water.  ('Triplicity' means triplicate or three, and there are three zodiac signs for each element.)

* Each sign is either cardinal, fixed or mutable (they are called 'quadruplices' because there are four zodiac signs to each one). The qualities are respectively, initiative (cardinal), steadfastness (fixed), and changeableness/adaptability (mutable).

Back to the astrology menu

Descriptions from "Heaven on Earth".